Tuesday, March 10, 2009

Barbara Liskov wins Turing Award!

From the MIT announcement:

Institute Professor Barbara Liskov has won the Association for Computing Machinery's A.M. Turing Award, one of the highest honors in science and engineering, for her pioneering work in the design of computer programming languages. Liskov's achievements underpin virtually every modern computing-related convenience in people's daily lives.

Liskov, the first U.S. woman to earn a PhD in computer science, was recognized for helping make software more reliable, consistent and resistant to errors and hacking. She is only the second woman to receive the honor, which carries a $250,000 purse and is often described as the "Nobel Prize in computing."

The first woman was Fran Allen, who won in 2006. The award was first given in 1966. I find it hopeful that it seems that women are now being seriously considered.

(Via Michael and Suresh.)


Anonymous said...

I find it hopeful that it seems that women are now being seriously considered. [emphasis mine]

Does this imply that women were not being seriously considered before? If so, on what evidence are you basing that accusation?

Suresh said...

might be interesting to compile a list of women who could be on a short list for future awards. this happens in Nobel land all the time.

Anon1: chill out :)

bil g said...

I'll start the list:
Nancy Lynch.

As for Anon 1--- there is a good question lurking there which I will rephrase: Sorelle, have there been other females who deserved the award but did not get it in the past
(possibly because they are female,
though that would be hard to prove).

Anonymous said...

another person on the list: Shafi Goldwasser

i second bil g's question

sorelle said...

I suppose the, admittedly snarky, answer to Bill's question is Fran Allen and Barbara Liskov.

Otherwise I don't know, which is sort of the point. Anyone?

Here's an interesting link to past notable women in cs hosted at Yale.

Alex McFerron said...

I'm happy she won. This is very inspirational!

aravind said...

In response to Suresh's suggestion, I will add Eva Tardos' name.